top of page
Search
  • Morgan Glasbergen

What's going on!!!

Where to start? What to say? Well I think a good place to start is to just say that I am happy, healthy and alive. A lot has been going on in the past little while not only here in South Africa but world wide. If you haven't guessed already what I'm talking about, I am talking about the Coronavirus. I know my mom has been getting many questions like "is Morgan coming home?" No, I am not coming home, at this time its a lot safer for me to stay where I am than to travel home. I know you may have many more questions to ask me, feel free to send me a message or email me and I will answer them the best that I can.


For the past six weeks I have been doing orientation with five other people, learning the ins and outs of what makes Hands function. The original plan would have been that after these six weeks we would be sent on our short term placements. (A short term placement is where we are basically shadowing and serving the service centres is whatever they are doing for a 4 week term.) If we had gone I would have been in Zambia this following week for the next month. It's not to say that this won't happen in the future but it's not an option at this time. Why is this not an option you may ask? As of March 26 at midnight South Africa has gone into a 21 day lockdown, no one in or out of the country, everyone staying in their homes, only leaving for groceries and essential services. Hands would classify as an essential service would it not? You would be correct, although Hands is an essential service we will have to be doing things in a little different way, trying to stick to the government's recommendations to our best ability. For example, keeping 2 meters distance between each other, washing hands as much as possible, staying isolated in your homes from others, only leaving for groceries.

In some of our care points the care workers might not be coming in to cook the meals for the children in fear of getting sick, spreading it if they have it already, being in large groups, etc. Sending out people from the hub to help provide this essential service is most likely something we will have to do in circumstances like this.


What does the lockdown look like living here at the hub? For those who don't know, at the hub we have many families and different homes people live in on the same property. Where I am living currently we would call the village, this is a shared living space between 16 other people. Right now we are classifying that as one home or one family living together. Those who live up on the hill in their own homes will need to stay in their homes as well. Those who would work down at the offices during the day now get to work from the comfort of their homes as well.


It's crazy to see how it's all been playing out here is South Africa because for me having access to people back home and the internet I know what's coming here and what to expect. Were just starting lockdown and people all over the world have been in lockdown for weeks already. I just pray that the virus doesn't reach our communities and that we are still able to support them to best of our abilities during this time.


To finish of this blog I want to share a passage with you that has brought me comfort during this time of the virus and panic that God does hear prays when we seek him in times like this.


13 “When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command locusts to devour the land or send a plague among my people, 14 if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and I will forgive their sin and will heal their land. (2 Chronicles 7:13-14)





151 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page